A Letter I’ve Never Sent #1

Ardelia
2 min readMar 16, 2023

--

Dear you,

Hi. I hope this message finds you in good condition. The day we started talking, I had no idea this would be how it turned out. I don’t know how long this is going to last, but I feel like it’s nearly over. Everything about you makes me extremely happy and comfortable. I like the kind of feeling you used to give me. Your presence has successfully invaded my heart and mind. I was lost in a moment of the notion that I had been in love with fantasies I had created in my head. I feared getting hurt if I let you in to break my wall. I was wondering why. Why would you say those words to me? Did you even mean it? I always question that in my head. Whenever you tried to convince me with genuine answers, that was the time I lost control. I cannot distinguish which one is real and which is imaginary.

I always like our midnight conversations until one of us falls asleep. We both lost track of time. Also, you have been crossing my mind ever since you expressed your feelings so straightforwardly. I don’t even understand why we were doing this. Were you just playing a game? However, apparently, I do enjoy playing that game with you. Well, I guess I was a fool all along.

We both are just perfect strangers who met by coincidence. We are just two clueless people taking chances on one another. I don’t even know you, and you don’t want to know about me, either. I really want to open up, but it’s pointless, right? I was going to level up in your quite puzzling game, yet I had already lost even before I clicked start. Apparently, you didn’t allow me to. Maybe because you know it only leads to a broken-hearted mess.

The fact that now you are a completely different person hurt me. You don’t respond with the same warmth anymore. Perhaps, my expectations were way too high, but I don’t consider my decision to like you a mistake. I’m forever thankful for everything, especially your existence, which filled my void. You are a book, and I am a page-turner. Therefore, I have reached the end of it.

I want you to remember the first night we met, our silly conversation, and the playlist we shared. I want you to remember me as someone you didn’t regret knowing, who will always cheer you up and truly, madly, deeply like you, even when you told me not to.

I guess it’s time to say farewell. I hope I have described us well.

--

--

Ardelia

Romanticizing everything is my coping mechanism. I like writing tragedies of my own.